My hair like Jesus wore it, Hallelujah I adore it!

While washing dishes yesterday morning, I was contemplating body acceptance, self-acceptance, self-love, etc. in a particularly hippie-ish fashion. I was thinking about how I used to assume I needed to be “perfect” and have all my shit together in order to be loveable. It’s easy to get stuck in this frame of thought, that you need to be some utopian, ideal human being before you can move forward or start a relationship.

Hold on a minute and consider this… What do you find most beautiful in others? Personally, I am attracted to weirdness. I like eccentricities and flaws. And I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in this. If I am able to love someone BECAUSE of their imperfections, who am I to think someone else cannot love me for those same reasons? While there are certainly situations where it is helpful to spend some time alone, I encourage everyone to accept those little quirks and “insufficiencies” with open arms.

Embrace your “weird” because goddamn, it is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

