On Gratitude

This past week was a tough one. I struggled a bit to cope with my emotions and found myself turning to food (or lack thereof) as an escape. I realize I may never fully rid myself of this particular demon, but this morning, as I look back on the past few days, I am reminded of just how blessed I truly am. Far too often I forget to open my eyes to the beauty around me.

Off and on, I’ve kept a “Gratitude Journal” in which I write out all the little joys from each day. I think this is a fabulous way to avoid being sucked down into pessimism, and seeing how I’ve spent the past week in Poor-Me-Ville, I felt it was high time I take a minute to stop, breathe and be thankful. Granted, we all have bad days where everything seems to suck and nothing works properly. You spill coffee down your shirt, there’s a giant hole in your sock, traffic stinks…you know the drill. But even on “those” days, I believe you will find little moments of loveliness if you allow yourself to see.

This week, I am thankful for 1) a family that loves and supports me 2) a hopeful weather forecast 3) cooking a yummy supper for J 4) finding a great new tv series (True Detective. Check it out!) 5) rediscovering my love for Legos!

Leave a Reply

