Mr. Fledermaus and A Vegan French Toast Recipe

As I sit here typing this, I’m listening to the scritch-scratch squeaking of a bat presumably trapped inside the wall. Hermes has been on guard for the past hour or so. I feel sorry for the little bugger, but should he happen to escape and fly victoriously into the middle of the house, I will undoubtedly scream like a sugar-dosed nine-year-old girl at a sleepover.

"I know you're in there..."

“I know you’re in there…”

Anyway…

I was craving something a little different the other morning and decided to give vegan French toast a shot. I’d never tried to replicate this comfort food favorite and was a little concerned the lack of egg would result in a mushy finished product. But, nope! The bread toasted nicely while maintaining smooth, soft insides. (That sounds weird, but you know what I mean…)

Non-Vegan Boyfriend Test Results: (after finishing his two slices in, oh, about three minutes) “It was good! I’d happily eat this every time you make it.”

frenchtoast2

Healthy Vegan French Toast

  • 2 slices sprouted grain bread
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon quinoa flour (though any flour would probably work just fine)
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground flax
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 stevia packets (or sweetener of choice or omit if desired)
  • Pinch salt
  • Toppings of choice (nutbutter, fruit, powdered sugar, maple syrup…all of the above?)

(I keep my sprouted grain bread in the freezer, so before mixing up the batter I nuked a couple slices for about 30 seconds to thaw.)

In a shallow dish mix together, applesauce, almond milk, flour, flax, cinnamon, sweetener and salt. Dip bread slices in the batter to coat. I would avoid allowing the bread to soak in the batter as you would with traditional French toast. Fry in nonstick skillet lightly sprayed with cooking spray until golden brown on each side. Garnish, top, smother in deliciousness and enjoy!

Serves 1. Calories (without toppings) 224 Fat 3.1g Carbohydrates 40.2g Fiber 8g Protein 9.5g

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to attempt a shower and hope Mr. Fledermaus doesn’t accost me in my helpless state. (And yes, I know bats aren’t actually rodents and that they aren’t prone to attack. My imagination, on the other hand, isn’t so sure.)

 

7 Comments

  1. Did he catch it?? My cats have been failing at mouse-hunting, which means I have the machete on the kitchen table just in case.

    I’ll be trying that toast. ….probably with bacon.

Leave a Reply

