My Autumn Bliss-List

I can hardly believe summer is drawing to a close. The past few months have brought change and a renewed sense of hope to my life. For the first time in my years of disordered eating, I am actively challenging myself to previously feared foods and doing so with minimal guilt. Only yesterday, a friend and I popped into the local Coldstone and treated ourselves to swirls of tangerine and pink lemonade sorbet then sat outside laughing and swatting away mosquitoes. Bug swarms aside, this is what I have craved for so long–not just the eating of tasty things but the enjoyment and pleasure brought by the experience of trying new foods and opening myself to life and the joy it has to offer.

As autumn nears, so does a whole new set of potentially blissful moments. I’ve seen a few people posting “bucket lists” for the fall months, and since I’ve never made one, I’m jumping on the trend.

“MoPB (Moments of Potential Bliss)” List 

  • Take an evening walk in crisp, cool air
  • Carve a pumpkin
  • Try a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte (or similar autumn-themed drink)
  • Attend the Johnny Appleseed Festival
  • Do a leaf craft (such as this one)
  • Bake an apple dessert
  • Watch a ridiculous old horror film
  • Decorate apartment with jewel tones (and burn spice-scented candles)
  • Donate sweaters and jackets to Goodwill
  • Go for a hike once the leaves turn

What are you looking forward to this fall? What possible moments of bliss could you open yourself to?

Leave a Reply

